ABe 8/12 Allegra - Electric Multiple Unit

Ge 4/4 iii Locomotive

The Rhaetian Railway ABe 8/12 is also known as an Allegra. It is a dual voltage, metre gauge, 3-car multiple unit. The Swiss locomotive and railcar classification system dictates the train name with ABe 8/12 denoting an electric railcar train with first and second class compartments, and a total of 12 axles, eight of which have powered traction motors.

The ABe 8/12 trains were delivered between 2009 and 2011. They have been built for routes with steep inclines such as the Arosa line, the Bernina Railway, and the line from Landquart to Davos. They are dual voltage trains, to enable them to run on both the Rhaetian Railway's core network, which is electrified at 11 kV AC, and on the Bernina Railway, which is electrified at 1,000 V DC.

The first class compartment at the front and rear of each set offers a view of the driver's cabin and line ahead.

On the 5th of December 2009, during regular testing in the Vereina Tunnel, an Allegra set a new metre gauge railway speed record of 139 km/h.


Get in Touch

Using This Web Site

Your Information